Progress

The process of undertaking a home improvement project such as a complete yard renovation puts many other aspects of life into a different perspective. For instance while you may be planning the next weekends’ objectives and setting aside a budget for materials, you may mistakenly forget about the family obligations you previously had, or the plans with friends that were made months ago. Now, my intention for this blog is not to whine and complain about spending time with family and friends, no, this blog is all about progress.
You see while this is my fiancés and I’s first major project in our new home, we had imagined and developed a plan of attack for the ordeal. Keep in mind the “imagined” part, while our plan was detailed and clear, we filed to factor in outside influence that would hinder our progress, hence the family and friends……and neighbors, and the dogs, and the right equipment, and supply stores hour of operation. The picture as of late shows an image of what appears to be a partially finished walkway, was this taken mid-day? you may ask, nope, that was last Saturday, at the end of the day, and that is as far as I have gotten, sad I know. Why did I stop? may be your next question. The answer is simple, when your all out of material and the supply store is closed and it’s the first heat wave of the season, there’s only one thing a young couple has left to do, call it quits and go to the lake!
As much as I would have loved to spend that Sunday putting the final touches on the walkway, leveling the loam and starting the next course of wall blocks, nothing beats a day at the lake. This lake has a special place in my heart as well, it is, I can honestly say the exact place I realized I was crazy the girl who had taken me there. Now years later, and a house full of unfinished projects, I stand by the statement that I will never sacrifice spending time with her at her cabin on Great East Lake, in order to “work” around the house. We look at it like this, they call a house a labor of love, but what’s the point of putting all that labor in without any love?
My plans for this weekend: work in the yard, until the next opportunity to bail out to the lake.

Leave a comment